09 Website design practiced originality issue.

From previous post, I listed the skills that can be discuss base on my experience while designing website. However, I would like to talk about my opinion on the citation issues when I did this project. I have started to concern about the originality issues while doing my web design project. In this project, I had to make a heritage website for a heritage city, Vigan.

First, the content of the website is a big part of it and it needed a lots of research. Therefore, I took the information and images from different visitor’s blog and tourist guide’s website for my content of web design.

In the design part, as my design based on texture style web design, I have used many free textures to enhance the heritage feeling that I wanted to create in my website. Those all little little details of textures which I also needed to cite them one by one. Since my lecturer said that can use stock images or online resource in web design as long as we must cite it, so I kept all the link for each resources for me to trace back them while doing citation.

Vigan City Website
Capture

All my resources are online materials, can be imagine how wide is the world of internet, we can access to infinite resources with internet. The amount of resources in this project took me around 3 hours to done all the citation. This has made me started to concern is it necessary to do citation, if not I can use that few hours to refine my coding of website. Is it we must cite everything to protect ourselves from the suspect of plagiarism? It’s easy to tell when someone plagiarised an essay, but what if design? Most of the website have similar styling which including flat design websites, illustration websites, watercolour websites and more. Let’s look at the samples below:

kathrynthurman

2

Both of these websites using the same design style which is texture style, especially also using paper textures and similar elements. However, is this consider as plagiarism? We are really hard to judge a design or an art is plagiarise except they are totally 100% copied.

Benjamin Hoffman from New York Times said that “The line between influence and plagiarism is awfully fuzzy and so much of what determines what side each instance falls on is intent.”

Of course as design student we are just learning, if we cited then no big deal will happens, we are still keep on influencing and inspired by others. The platform that we always accessed the most is the internet.

Citation:

Kathrynthurman.com, (2015). Kathryn Thurman. [online] Available at: http://www.kathrynthurman.com/ [Accessed 4 Jan. 2015].

Sollievo.org, (2014). Home. [online] Available at: http://www.sollievo.org/ [Accessed 4
Dec. 2014].

Wallen, P. and Wallen, P. (2013). Design plagiarism: Myth or reality? – The Society for News Design – SND. [online] Snd.org. Available at: http://www.snd.org/2013/09/design-plagiarism-myth-or-reality/ [Accessed 13 Jan. 2015].

Leave a Reply

